top of page

The SSP Open Foundation congratulates Steve Doody on being its 2023 Honoree. Steve is a proud graduate of SSP Class of 1980, University of North Dakota, and received his MBA from The University of St Thomas.


Steve remembers, “...many kids playing all sports that were available. There were great rivalries between elementary schools and we all wanted to play for the Packers.”


Steve had the school record for the high jump and was a member of the SSP Hall of Fame 1979 State Championship track team. He is married to Maggie and they have three children, Steve, Megan and Sam, who all graduated from South St. Paul, lettering in various sports.


The South St. Paul Open Foundation is a community based, volunteer group committed to supporting co-curricular activities. From the Arts to Athletics, the South St. Paul Open Foundation is commited to enhancing the experience available for students at South St. Paul Secondary.

Some activities that the SSP Open Foundation have helped to fund

Activities Banquet
New Oboe for Band
Craig Felton Press Box
Football Practice Jerseys
Hall of Fame
Baseball Hitting Tees, Screens and Turf Mats Dance Team Garment Bags
Swim Team Pace Clocks

Elementary Track Meet
Hudl Video Software for All Sports

Show Choir Copyright Fees
Boys & Girls Basketball Shooting Machines Uniforms






Mark Duffy, President


Scott Stengel, Treasurer


Event Coordinator


Erica Dwelle, Secretary

High School Liaison

Brady Krueger, Activities Director

School Board Liaison

John Raasch

At-Large Board Members

Jamie Berchtold
Cora Duffy
Dan Williams
Joann Cudo
Lisa Duffy
Mike Rohrer
Scott Oelerking

Chad Sexauer, Activities Director


The South St. Paul Open started in 1974 as a fundraising group supporting athletics at South St. Paul Senior High. Today the focus has expanded to support all co-curricular activities and their parent-run booster clubs in South St. Paul Schools.


The SSP Open Board of Directors is made of community volunteers who have a passion and deep commitment to South St. Paul Public Schools and the co-curricular programs of this community.

In 2012, the organization became an officially IRS-recognized Foundation. Many people played integral roles to make this happen, but we would like to recognize and thank Jodee Paape and Ken Rohlf for their in-kind work with their incredible expertise to manage the tedious details.


The Board meets on the third Wednesday of the month at 8:00pm at the Croatian Hall. Meetings are open to the public. During these meetings, the Board reviews requests for funding from school district organizations, then organize and plan the fundraising events related to this group.

The Board is always looking for people interested in helping with our cause. If you or someone you knows has any interest in helping with this organization, please contact Mark Duffy at


booster club

How does a South St. Paul Booster group join financial partnership with the South St. Paul Open Foundation?


  • South St. Paul Booster groups must first submit to the State of Minnesota for an Article of Incorporation that lists at a minimum a President, Treasurer, and Director.

  • The SSP Booster must then complete the Fiscal Sponsorship Agreement with the South St. Paul Open Foundation.

  • The SSP Booster group must provide to the SSP Open a copy of their meeting minutes designating individuals who will be able to deposit and request funds as well as request any financial reports from their specific account within the SSP Open Foundation. Booster groups must submit their minutes each time the designated individuals list changes.

  • See Booster Club FAQ document for step by step directions.


Please contact Mark Duffy at with additional questions 


Distinguished Recipients

The South St Paul Open Foundation Board recognizes individuals and groups that have made a significant contribution to South St. Paul and the co-curricular programs for the public schools.  Either through time or financial support, these individuals and groups have committed significant personal resources to help the young people of our community over the years. They recognized the importance of the opportunities provided the young people of South St. Paul by these programs.


The South St. Paul Open places great importance on the impact an individual or a group can have on a community and that community’s youth. It is with great care and respect that we select an Honoree each year. 


If you have an individual or group that you feel The Open should recognize, please feel free to email The Open Foundation and submit a nomination.


2022     2002 Girls Hockey Team

2021     Beaver Lick

2020     (none-covid)

2019      Vic Grabau

               Gerry Gustafson

2018      Tom Dolby

2017      Paul Moen

2016      Phil Housley

2015      Bruce Baumann

               Mayor Beth Baumann
2014      Tom Morris

               Royce Morrissette​
2013      Dr. Dana Babbitt
2012      John Laliberte
2011      Kay Francis

2010      Bruce Ruecker

2009      Jim Metzen

2008      Harold “Red” Leonard

2007      David Glazier

2006      Susan O’Brien

2005      Pete Locke

2004      Doug Woog

2003      Jim Carter

2002      David Metzen

2001      Dale Schenian

               Don Harris

2000      Worth & Mary Stiles

1999      Milton McMorrow

               1979 Girls’ Track Team

               Bremer Bank

1998       Wayne Otto

1997       James Lindell

1996       Jerry Reynolds

1995       South St. Paul Lions Club

               Croatian Hall

1994       Donald “Whitey” Willer

               1947 Hockey Team

1993       Pete Veldman

1992       Everett “Doc” Flom

1991       Charles “Lefty” Smith

1990       Al Belde

1989       Gallagher-Hansen VFW

1988       Bernard St. Peter

1987       Fred Jones

1986       Corinne Livengood

1985       Steve Silianoff

1984       Sam Ettinger




The Ward Family



BLVD Tavern

Bremer Bank

Croatian Hall


Tom Dolby

Twin City Hide



Duffy Homes Group

Steve Doody, CFP of Edward Jones

Southview Country Club

Two Tree Creative



Archer Exteriors 

Bruce Nelson Plumbing & Heating

Cherokee Manufacturing

Culligan Water

Isolar, LLC

James Leary, CPS

Scott Stengel American Family Insurance

Twin Cities Foot & Ankle Clinic

Wold Architects and Engineers


EZ Sharp

Game One

G2 Dental

The Oelerking Family 

The Podgorski Family


Butch Moening

Marge Willer

If you are interested in becoming a sponosr of the SSP Open, please contact Mark Duffy at




PO Box 535

South St. Paul, MN 55075


For any general inquiries, please fill in the following contact form:

Success! Message received.

bottom of page